BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: Officially pregnant day 8

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for four years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

I’ve felt a bit sick for well over a week now – since before the pregnancy test actually. Not been sick yet, but it does come and go. Usually either if I eat, or don’t eat. This is technically too early for morning sickness (although my Mum says she felt bloody awful the whole time she was expecting me) and may be the IVF hormones I’m still taking.

Today the sick feeling was sufficiently troublesome that I got some ginger beer in. I don’t like ginger beer, but ginger is said to dampen the feeling of sickness down and now I’ve tested it yes it seems to work. I saw some ginger lozenges which I might have preferred, but they have folic acid in them and I am already taking folic acid so I didn’t want to double dose. Ginger beer it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.