Blippingvicar

By Blippingvicar

By the canal

I did my first Blip on the Friday before Remembrance Sunday last year, so I guess this would have been my 365 if I hadn't missed a few days. Ah well, only 10 to go!
I decided to get out early this morning and headed off to the RSPB Reserve at Middleton Lakes again. I met someone last week who had seen kingfishers along this bit of the Coventry & Fazeley Canal, so what a good thing there were none today, diving into the water and spoiling the spectacular reflections! OK I admit it, I was hoping I might see some. I did see a couple of little egrets in flight, and nearly had a heart attack when a pheasant flew up very noisily in front of me.
Someone walking into the reserve as I was leaving asked if I'd seen anything interesting. I wasn't entirely truthful when I said "no, not really". I probably saw plenty of interesting things, but hadn't a clue what they were. That's why I try to photograph them - so that I can compare them with the pictures in my RSPB book when I get home! It may have been a lean morning from the bird spotting point of view, but I had a lovely walk in the early morning sun, and as it is tipping it down with rain now am very glad I did.
That's me half way through my day off - hope you have a great Friday and a restful week-end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.