Historian31

By Historian31

Wall Monument, St Margaret's Church, Warnham

It has been a challenge in my first week in Blipworld to photograph something when it has been so wet and gloomy! I leave early on a Friday from work and the usual walk that I try to do was out of the question as the rain was bucketing down. So I visited another church near Horsham that is usually open and photographed this early 19th Cenury white marble monument at Warnham. The surname of Napper was a common name in this area and is still to be found locally today. The urn with the drapery and the style of lettering is very typical of the period. I literally had to grope about in the dark in this church as I couldn't find a light switch and there was just enough light coming through the stained glass for me to compose this shot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.