Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

Silent Movie night with Buster Keaton

At the library in town, yesterday, I noticed a poster for tonight's showing of Buster Keaton's 1924 silent movie, Sherlock Jr. Right away, I knew I had to go. I love silent films and Buster is a favourite. Plus, I haven't seen one in ages. The best part was this was being screened with a live improv performance on a church organ by a master organist who sidelines in silent movie accompaniment!

It was held in the sanctuary of Trinity United Church in Newmarket, Ontario. About 70 of us - from children to the elderly - sat in the pews and a screen was set up in the front behind and above the organist, William O'Meara. First up was an organ recital. After as short intermission, the main event. It was wonderful. I've seen a lot of silent films - always silent or with a canned period-appropriate score. I had never seen one screen to live music as they were intended. It was extraordinary. If you ever get the chance, do attend one.

Drinks and cookies were served afterwards. My recently-retired boss, Carol, from York University drove up from Toronto and sat with me. We hadn't chatted since early summer so it was nice to catch up.

Tomorrow, another live event. This time, I'm in downtown Toronto to The Royal Conservatory of Music's Koerner Hall. They have a most unique show on offer. The prog rock band Rush - rather, some of their music is getting an orchestral makeover! Fantasia on Themes by Rush should be fascinating. It debuted last year and is being brought back this year by popular demand. Far out!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.