Transitoire

By Transitoire

Fairies

This is the third year that these fairies have been with me. My mum makde them just before the start of my second year, and since then I've always had them (even taking them to France and back!) because they remind me of her.

A little bit of an emergency blip, today as ever has been massively busy. The balance of seminars with sports is always fun, and I feel like I never stop on Tuesdays! We have now learnt in our translation class that we need to learn a new grammar tense properly, which surprised us all rather a lot! So, the passé simple:-

The passé simple, translated in English as either "simple past" or "preterite," is the literary equivalent of the passé composé, which means that it is used only in formal writing and very formal speech. In such writing and speech, the passé simple is used alongside the imperfect, just as in everyday speech/writing, the passé composé and imperfect are used together.

Some irregular verbs to learn include:-

avoir > eu-
j'eus
tu eus
il eut
nous eûmes
vous eûtes
ils eurent

être > f-
je fus
tu fus
il fut
nous fûmes
vous fûtes
ils furent

mourir > mouru-
je mourus
tu mourus
il mourut
nous mourûmes
vous mourûtes
ils moururent

venir > vin-
je vins
tu vins
il vint
nous vînmes
vous vîntes
ils vinrent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.