Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By cdsvfdcs

Art

A surprisingly lovely sunny morning so we chanced a saturday morning row on Lake Union with hardly any other boats in sight. Very fine.

And then, besides more packing for our trip (did we remember everything?) we had a bit of an art day - Went to Pioneer Square to see friend and fellow blipper MIkeday’s installation, “Accumulation” that opened with the thursday night art walk and she has yet to blip. :-) I just couldn’t make it down there thursday so H and went today without so many people. This is a little section of Mike’s piece that is sewn paint chips, maybe 4’by 8’? It bends this way and that apart from the wall. Lots of color for that one who loves black and white photos. Looks good (and quilt like)...!!! I hope she will blip the whole piece herself....

We then went to some of the other galleries with lots of interesting work- For one, I wanted to see the elephants and zebras of Andre Petterson, inspired by a trip to Africa. They are multi media - photographs manipulated in photoshop and then painted on with lots of drippy paint. I do like photos and paint together but these were so contrived, that the “humanity” or “soul” of the animals was lost to me and I thought they were disturbing. Possibly because I’ve been looking through my Nick Brandt Africa books and think his are the best - (all with no telephoto lens) and the most sensitive and respectful. Petterson did make understandable comments about ivory and stripes but I still didn’t like seeing the animals like this. these are the only photos I got, but here is the link to the gallery -he is the second artist. - the Is;ands person,especially the book pieces was pretty likable) I could go on, but won’t. What do you think?

And the art goes on --an exciting PNB ballet program tonight. I’ll surely be saturated. and ready for the big open spaces….and those animals...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.