Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Ready for Adventure!

We’re ready! I debated for a long time about getting a new camera bag for this trip tomorrow as I need it to be an “overnighter” as well and my other one really wouldn’t do that. So I’m tickled how this Lowepro bag has worked out. Much more organized than my virgo self has ever been (that’s not saying a lot.)! Starting from the top (left) space for my toiletries kit (with the liquids in their quart bag for the airport), eye mask and book. Next section: Boze earphones and camera raincoat. Next section top: the camera chargers and the 50mm lens underneath. lower: my Canon camera -which has a separate zipper “door” of it’s own on the side for easy access. Lower(right) section: my blowup pillow, change of underwear and socks (black) and under that the 70-200 lens. The rest folds over and zips. It’s very compact - will easily fit under a seat. In the back (underneath) is a slim padded section for the ipad and my sketchbook. Various other small pockets for pens and memory chips etc. The sony I took this picture with will tuck in there too. On the side is a spot for a tripod (I carry my walking stick/monopod but never have had a place to stow it! There is even a rainfly tucked away and all the backpack straps. I took out a couple of the small compartments. Now how neat is that? We also each have a regular carry on bag (not full) that will get checked..

We leave at 5:15 PM on Emirates Air direct from Seattle to Dubai - 14.5 hours! Economy. :-) 12 hours in Dubai before we fly to Entebbe, Uganda. This will be our 3rd tour with this company (Odyssey) through the UW alumnae. The professor (naturalist, sociologist, historian, birder) that was with us on the African trip last year will be here again (one of the reasons we signed up). There are 10 people and we will meet our African guide in Entebbe and go to 5 different parks, all of which look fabulous. Lots of great animals and birds will be sighted but of course what we are all looking forward to is those mountain gorillas. It’s the only part that worries me - the gorilla trek is anywhere from 10 minutes to 5 hours at maybe 8000 ft on a hilly jungle-y mountain. We live at sea level. But that is day 12 so hopefully we will be acclimated! And there will be porters to push and pull us up the mountain. :-) More about it all later. Some of our park hotels are solar powered and candles only. Camera batteries charged in the land rover.

I will try to blip when I can and it will be my (abbreviated, I hope) trip diary to read or not - or just look at the photo! But probably no comments, and I’m sure there will be some backblipping after we are home on the 27th.

We are very excited!!!! Stay well and happy, everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.