CameraHappy

By CameraHappy

En Route

I traveled to my late grandfather's farm to attend the annual Christmas Bazaar. During these winter months, planning to go places is typically qualified with "weather permitting". Fortunately, today the weather did permit the three hour drive. When I left home, the skies were gray and it was snowing and blowing. I was thinking it might not be wise to keep going. However, as soon as reached the highway, the snow stopped and shortly after that, the sun came out. It was an amazing trip with clear blue skies creating a picture-perfect background for the hoar frost on the trees, shrubs and grasses. Even the power lines were coated with sparkling frost.

This annual event hosts Ten Thousand Villages, the oldest and largest Fair Trade organization in North America, selling artisan-crafted personal accessories, home decor and gift items from around the globe. There were local vendors as well, selling everything from clover and carrigana honey to homemade cinnamon buns. (This time I did not resist!)

My aunts made the most delicious pies and I sampled the boysenberry one. There were also freshly made perogies, cole slaw and sausages for lunch.

The home where I spent my childhood is about 3 kilometers from my grandfather's farm. Many of the extended family have stayed in the area, so a strong family connection remains in this farming community. And, bonus, I got to show off my youngest grandchild to uncles, aunts, cousins, and childhood friends.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.