Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Funky Cats Quilt

We were spoiled for choice for things to see and do here in Blenheim today. In fact the last few days have been incredibly busy for many folk. First we had the famous annual “Garden Marlborough” festival which spanned five days culminating in the Garden Marlborough Fete today. This busy fete took place in Seymour Square among its lovely gardens and beside a cooling fountain. It certainly needed to be cooling today as the temperature got to 29C…. the hottest in the country. Garden Marlborough deserves a blip of its very own and if I am still around in BlipWorld this time next year I will profile this wonderful festival. Then there was the A & P Show, open to the public on Friday and Saturday.
One of the local schools had its annual Guy Fawkes bonfire and display at the A & P Showgrounds last night. Poor Fergus, the dog, was most upset about that event and shivered and shook whilst spending most of the time under my desk.
The Floral Art Society had displays in various venues around town. And ART it certainly is. We have some very talented floral artists in our midst. They put my modest efforts in the craft totally to shame.
The Marlborough Quilters put on a magnificent show in a large display hall at the Combined Clubs of Marlborough. I loved it and spent a great deal of time there this afternoon. The artistry of these quilters has to be seen to be believed. I really admire their skills and patience. They are such talented people. Because I am a cat lover I have chosen to blip the Funky Cats quilt. Perhaps not as intricately “quilted” as other exhibits I think it is very clever and colourful and fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.