Lizimagiz

By Lizimagiz

Flowers for Shirley

It is a year since my “River Friend” Shirley died. On the 26th of October I met Shirley’s son Marc at a place on the Taylor River bank I call “Shirley’s Shrine”. It is where her ashes were spread and there are flowers and other small personal items tucked away there.
Something strange happened this morning. I was buying herb plants and talking with the nurseryman at the “Artisans’ Market”. We finally introduced ourselves. He is John S. I asked if he was related to Marc S. He asked where I had met Marc. I told him I had met him recently at Shirley’s Shrine down on the Taylor River bed. John said “Shirley was my sister….” (Small world? Co-incidence? Synchronicity?) I told him I was on my way to the river to visit Shirley’s Shrine to leave flowers at the site. In fact “The flowers are in my car right now.”
So I went to the river with the dogs and left the flowers there in memory of my River Friend. There were other lovely fresh flowers in water nearby….left by other family members no doubt. I have photographed my offering alongside three tiny teddy bears that have resided there in all weathers since Shirley’s ashes were spread. I like to think they are keeping her spirit company. Marc will be pleased. I will send him a photo…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.