... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Mrs. Mallard

Splashier in large ("L").

I had a wonderful time by the river this afternoon: there was hardly any action (the birds were all being surprisingly sedate) but there were lots of people rowing on the river so the birds had to shuffle about a bit to avoid the boats... So little action, but they certainly let me explore the light and all the different reflections that were possible on that little stretch of river. Two swans swanned up and down looking imperious, but it was mostly mallards, greylags, and black-headed gulls.

I struggled to choose my blip; the light was beautiful and made for wonderful watery effects and reflections.
I've put some "mallards in different light" alternatives up here:
Quack-cackling
Mr. and Mrs. Mallard
Mallard under golden leaves

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.