... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Hoverfly: Washing Session!

Crisper and cleaner in large ("L").

I opened my window this afternoon (trying to release some of the moisture from my room: the windows are always covered in condensation and drip onto the windowsills below...) and was thrilled when a hoverfly flew in seeking refuge from the chilly air. It came in and started to wash, so I whipped out my flash and photographed its washing session. I was amazed by how far it could rotate its head: when it cleans the back of its head, it rotates it more than 180 degrees so that its mouthparts are over its back.

I've uploaded a whole load of shots to Flickr (right from "Taking off"), as well as back blips for the last couple of days.
Saturday morning in the Covered Market
Tufted Duck by moonlight

Hoverfly highlights:
Upside-down head (and click to the right for more)
Close detail
Washing close-up [=alternative]
Washing its 3rd pair of legs

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.