Mikey88

By Mikey88

Rays

I set off for the river this morning at about 8.00am, but didn't get any further than about half a mile from the village before I saw the mist in the trees and the sun shining through it. I screeched off the road and into the car park and spent the next two hours taking a range of shots of mist, rays, autumn colours, misty silhouettes and some interesting fungi. It was a bit difficult choosing one shot for today's blip.

Some of the fungi shots were a bit disappointing, so if it is not raining tomorrow morning, I will be back to improve on them - although it's pouring down as I write this, so even if it stops, I may well end up covered in mud as I lie down to get the right angle on the fungi.

On getting back, I had to do our Sunday roast for one o'clock, as my daughter was working at the time we would normally eat (generally between five and six). After lunch, we went down to the village war memorial for the Remembrance Ceremony. Most moving.

At some point over the year, my wife will be covering the First World War with her class and intends to research some of the names on the memorial. It should hopefully bring it home to the children - most of those on the memorial will have attended the village school. It has a lot of potential as a topic in this centenary year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.