West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Reflections

After the frivolity of yesterday and a hard morning in the books I had to take some time out to clear my head and enjoy a beautiful but very cold afternoon. The frost of last night never lifted and the roads were still white as I headed for the river. I knew there would be beautiful light in the late afternoon and that the clear sky would lend itself to shooting the first snow of winter on the hills on the North shore.

I love this place, the feeling of solitude, alone but never lonely; I feel my friend with whom I share a special love of this place closer to me when I am here and shoot the river to share my walk and time here with them. I didn't sleep well and I as I sat in the wee small hours I watched as Jack frost did his work, and watched as the sun arced low bringing the first light of dawn with her and I stumbled into a new day.

The river was still, the palate of mother nature's colours were covering the full spectrum, pinks and oranges and blues and the hills dusted with a covering of snow, like icing sugar on a cake but beautiful as it is it does mean that autumn has slipped by and winter is upon us. Who knows what the weather has in store for the winter I hope cold and dry as I find that the rain brings me down, in winter is is unpleasant, cold turgid not the warmth of a summer rain that is a joy to walk in despite getting wet!!!

I hope you can enjoy this shot as I enjoyed walking in this place today, reflecting on who is important to me and who I cannot contemplate ever being without. I know that I will never have to face that prospect and that gladdens my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.