a town called E.

By Eej

Last of the Light

I feel there should be a song with this, but I'm drawing a blank.

Today I got up early, ran for a bit against the wind no matter what direction I went, made a chocolate banana cake, cleaned, and generally pottered.
Then I saved a bird that had gotten himself trapped in the garage since yesterday (because the garage hasn't been opened since then). It was a Junco and it was in such a state of hysteria, and tried SO hard to kill itself by slamming into the window that I didn't even consider opening the garage door to let him figure it out - this bird needed to be caught and put outside instantly. Well. When I caught it I was so scared to hurt it that I held it too loose - so it escaped and hurled itself into the window with even more vigour and determination. I caught it again. And it escaped again. So now we were both hysterical; bird and I. I yelled at it: I'M TRYING TO SAVE YOU, YOU DUMBASS!
I caught it again, and now kept a firm grip while muttering "Please don't die! I'm trying not to hurt you, 'kay?"

And then we were outside and I opened my hands and it flew away and onto the feeder. Pffffff. I had to walk around wobbly-legged for 20 minutes. Not my finest rescue, but it was done and there was a happy ending. Hurray.

Then the Beloved came home and we got groceries and on the way back he took me to the dirt road where we saw the light fade behind my Favourite Tree (all the way at the end)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.