The Last Post plays out in the wind and rain...

For me, the most haunting and painfully emotional part of the 11 o'clock of 11th month two minute silence is always the piercing solo bugle playing The Last Post.

In the squally mizzle, a good crowd braved the elements to show their respect. Even the major refurbishment works of Salisbury's Guildhall Square where the War Memorial is located, stopped. Admittedly, a few cars and buses kept moving but otherwise it was total, haunting and unsettling silence.

Probably worth looking in LARGE. You can see the reflection of his poppy in the instrument.

I stopped clicking too, but not before a few pics with my Tamron SP 70-300mm zoom, of the standard bearers, the priest giving the service and the procession including the Mayor. Afterwards it was an honour to mingle and chat and we all went off to the local British Legion Club for coffee (and possibly something stronger for some!).

Indeed, I was a member of the Legion, until I couldn't afford to renew the annual membership - it is good value but I hardly went in and don't drink anyway, so it had to go. For someone who has not served, nor has any family members who have either, it was quite an honour to be asked and nominated by the committee to join.

This was because I had photographed previous Sunday Services and Armistice Days before and because I had got to know some of them, who had incredible human stories to tell. There is a super-glue strength camaraderie amongst them and this is infectious. So, despite not being a paid up member I joined them all as a guest.

My few pictures from these few minutes of the ceremony will be put on a CD for them, for their records. It is indeed a privilege and an honour - and considering what these people have done and gone through for me, and you, then it is humbling that this is the very least I can do.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.