An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

11th Hour, 11th Day, 11th Month

"Lest We Forget"

Salisbury's Remembrance Service. My community duty every year to get photos for the British Legion.

Lots of people go to and take pictures on the Sunday but on the 11th two minute silence much fewer people and almost no-one taking photos. Most are working then, of course and those that aren't are retired.

The heavy downpours eased to almost nothing. Car alarms shrieked, noisy cars shattered the collective silence.

Then, as St Thomas' Church bells rang out eleven times, utter silence. Buses turned off their engines, their departures waited. Birds stopped flying. Children stopped in a mixture of awe and respect. I totally stopped taking pictures, head bowed.

This was taken during the Bishop's address, after the silence, whom I couldn't hear as the wind blew his words away from me. Just as he finished, car alarms shrieked, buses started up their clattering diesel engines and noisy cars and distant emergency vehicle sirens wailed.

I would normally go to the 'Legion' afterward - I have a kind of honorary membership (that isn't a membership) because I take the photos. I believe that us photographers can do our bit volunteering to take photos at such events - you certainly feel part of your own community and you do make some great friends. The old boy who I got to know really well wasn't there this year. He was 98 and still driving and doing his own shopping and a key fundraiser for MacMillan cancer research. My thoughts and heart go out to him, I so hope that he OK but you just never know.

However this weather really attacks my sinuses and a migraine quickly set in, which I will now have to go to bed and try and sleep off.

I was going to leave this til after the other days I've yet to backdate but felt it just too important not to get this up now. Respect.

Last Year's Bugler, playing out the Last Post, also in the pouring rain. The bugler was also missing this year.

Thanks for all the Hearts and comments that keep pouring in - and my Autumnal beeches got to top of the Spotlights. Huge thank you! I'll try to thank you better when I finally get up again.

Lens is Tamron SP 70-300mm VC

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.