An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

The Storms of War...

The Unknown Soldier - saluting World War One.

Winchester Cathedral, the day after Armistice Day. Storms and Ultrawideangle lenses - what a combination! And boy, didn't it half chuck it down two minutes after this shot! I ran...

I'm staying in Winchester for at least a week. Not a holiday, as such. And not costing me very much either.

I have taken with me:

Old D700 full-frame DSLR
8mm circular f3.5 fisheye (Sigma)
14mm f2.8 Ultrawide (Sigma)
20mm f1.8 Wideangle (Sigma)
35mm f1.4 Mild Wideangle (Nippon Kogaku)
50mm D f1.4 Standard (Nikon)
70-300mm SP VC Telezoom (Tamron)

No tripod. Want to concentrate on using the annual pass for the Cathedral bought today, so lots of interiors and other bits of this fine historic city. So, no landscapes in the dark in the middle of nowhere. Hopefully a couple of street and people shots too.

And yes, finally, already lined up a Derelict Thursday Challenge subject! After last week's absence without leave, the Challenge is back! I do get occasional use of a computer (you wouldn't be reading this otherwise...) and ALL I ask you to do is tag all entries Derelict Thursday

Not the words together or in inverted commas (lower or upper case are fine). I will not be looking at links made on my own page or on the Forum. Not this time and hopefully not again.

There will be the link on mine that leads directly to all entries tagged derelict Thursday. Please check that your entry appears there. If it doesn't, then you've typed in the tag incorrectly. It will be up to you to do this. For those uploading using devices that won't allow tagging, then there is nothing I can do. I won't be writing out a list. Last time, all links were lost 12 hours after and I spent over an hour typing them all back in. I can only suggest that you try an alternative device - and no, I have no knowledge or expertise in which devices do what.

And finally, my usual Favourite and Runner Up will only be viewed and chosen from those tagged correctly - you have been warned! Sorry if this all sounds a bit harsh but in truth this is the only way that the Challenge can continue - and me staying even remotely sane!

Lens is Sigma EX 14mm f2.8

Big and huge thanks to ALL who commented and Faved my Rhapsody in Blue foggy Blip - it's currently riding high in the Spotlights! I WILL thank many of you a bit later, and hopefully comment on a few Journals when I can chuck the owner of this computer off their computer...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.