From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

A Sunday for Remembrance

This is a short one as I am playing catch up again. Please don't anyone think I am being disrespectful by my brevity. Perhaps Remembrance Sunday is a day I should be saying less rather than more.

I went to the Blessing of the Graves at a local graveyard which takes place every Remembrance Sunday. It's a time when people remember all their dear departed, not just those killed in the wars. It was a beautiful, crisp clear day and many people were out visiting their relatives. After the brief service, everyone walked to the graves where their family member lay, waiting for the priests to visit blessing the sites with holy water.

It was more of an annual get together for many people there. As I was wandering around with my camera, I heard snatches of conversations about all sorts of things which would make your hair stand on end.

I took lots of discreet pictures of the sun shining over the gravestones but decided on this one as it was the most anonymous.

Track? Something a little more sombre for this reflective time of year - Fields of Gold

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.