Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

In Honor...

Today is Veteran's Day in the United States, a federal holiday that honors the men and women who have served in our armed forces (past and present). And because so many members of my extended family have served (or are serving) I wanted to do something special and a little different. I took this photo at the headquarters of the state park where I do much of my hiking.

I ultimately decided on a severe crop and some different (for me) processing. I used the infrared rather than a straight mono treatment because I liked the depth it created. As most of you know, this is way outside what I usually do but I thought it made sense to go out of my comfort zone today. If you're interested, HERE is the color version.

Busy day in the office, where the cats have kept me company most of the day. Phoebe is always interested in what I'm doing - more specifically, she's interested in whether or not it involves food. She's never totally gotten over her shelter-cat obsession with food.

When I went over to the park to photograph the flag, I also stopped at my favorite spot and took a photo of the stand of maples - a view I have photographed many times and never tire of. Just last week, it looked totally different, covered in yellow.

Wishing you peace.

xoxo,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.