Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Ha! Who's laughing now, smarty-pants?

That is what I imagine the pelican is saying to the laughing gull who has been unsuccessful in stealing the peli's meal. I think I could watch pelicans for hours and hours - they are really very cool creatures. And, the gulls ... well, they are very entertaining too.

I took a quick trip down to Gulfport this morning to a place I hadn't been called Clam Bayou. It has some nice trails but the highlight for me was walking back along the marina and coming across a guy cleaning his catch. He'd attracted quite a crowd ... wood storks, snowy egrets, great egrets, great blue herons and droves of peli's and laughing gulls. It was quite a show. A very lucky juvenile pelican scored a big fish head, and then swam around for about 20 minutes trying to swallow it...it was too big to go down this throat, but he wasn't giving up. Then, this peli scored a nice scrap that he then flaunted to the gulls. What, you've never seen a pelican flaunt before???

Anyway, a fun morning. Now I'm back at mi casa, waiting for a plumber. As it turns out, the garbage disposal can't really handle sunflower stems. Yea, go figure. Soooo, now I have a plumber coming to unplug the sink. I guess this is what happens when you give a gal a garbage disposal for the first time in 20+ years ... right away, she plugs it up.

I posted 8 other fun shots from today on Flickr, starting here with a gut-eating gull and finishing up with a tiny little wharf crab.

Today is Veteran's Day in the US and I want to take this opportunity to thank all of the men and women who are serving/have served our country, including my two nephews, Brian and Jack. Thank you.

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.