dsparks83

By dsparks83

Does it matter how you read - you're reading

I often hear people bemoan the death of books because of devices like the Kindle and sorting through the full book shelf in my old room at my parents I can understand the nostalgia when presented with a shelf of actual books and I love to see a library full of those interesting titles you want to show off to visitors.
As a Kindle owner for quite a while it's hard to beat the sheer ease and practicality of the device. I imagine if you presented someone without the nostalgic attachment to paper books with the two options they'd wonder why you would choose a pile of paper over a Kindle.
That said though personally I think books will still survive, I find them much better for reference titles and there will always be a space for those big coffee table tomes. I'm also not sure there is the same appreciation of the artwork of a graphic novel when it isn't in print.

The picture above is my wife's Kindle, as is the dodgy list of titles behind it, and I saw her shed a few tears reading a book on it the other day and it made me think, does the whole argument matter? If you're reading and being introduced to new books to enjoy they can still have the same effect and power in the storytelling. As long as you're reading does it really matter what you read on?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.