Mammals Rule!

I was not planning to blip the birds again today. We are about to take off for a day trip down Chuckanut Drive towards Anacortes and I'm sure I will find things to photograph. But this morning an aggressive squirrel changed my mind for me. I had my camera trained on the two jays that were eating peanuts, waiting for a dispute to erupt. I did notice the squirrel below on the deck but didn't think much of it. Bam! Up he came with claws extended, chasing those jays away. Luckily my trigger finger was ready and I got a sequence starting with this photo as the squirrel chased the birds away and settled down to eat the peanuts himself. I've never seen one do that before and was flabbergasted when he did. Also my heart did a little pitter pat as I thought I saw this in my viewfinder. And, ah... yes I did. Bigger view.

Now I must hit the road. If I get some other good shots today, I'll post them on Chaikins of Bellingham. If not, oh well. This photo made my day. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.