Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Boating Lake

As you may have spotted, I like the boating lake in Greenhead Park, I think there may be a couple of viewpoints I have not Blipped yet, but not many!

I was so touched by the concern and kindness you lovely Blippers showed for Charlie and his family, you are such a warm and lovely bunch, thank you, thank you, thank you!
After a morning of trying to find out news I heard from the British Embassy that Charlie and family were progressing towards Manila, then his wife popped up on Facebook to say they are in Naga City - less than 200 miles from Manila and away from the worst of the damage. They seem to be travelling by bus so should get to Manila tomorrow hopefully.

Meanwhile I am working today, which is a shame on such a glorious day - I might sneak out for lunch somewhere. I am not going to Wakefield tomorrow as my car is in the garage after the brakes failed! This was after the trip to Bridestones on Sunday, a very hilly part of the world and I think the brake fluid boiled. Anyway, John was driving and they failed on a very flat bit of road near our house and not on the hill down from Heptonstall! Never a dull moment (well actually, loads of them!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.