AnyOldIron

By AnyOldIron

Counting My Blessings

I had one of those slow, miserable starts to the day and finally dragged myself out to walk the dog about eleven, moaning to myself and dragging my heels. It was cold, it was wet and it was very muddy and I was damned if I wanted to be there.

Then I thought about all those poor buggers in the Phillipines and felt very ashamed.

I donated this morning when I read about the DEC appeal but it didn't occur to me that it was just as important to count my blessings. So here's my Five Good Things, renamed for today as Count Your Blessings You Spoiled Little First World Girl:

1. I'm alive
2. I have four walls and a roof and they are unlikely to be blown anywhere
3. The most dangerous thing I and my loved ones face today is a benign journey
to either work, which sustains us, or school, which nurtures and teaches us.
4. I am blessed to live in a place where the worst the wind can do is make
me a bit cold and the worst the rain can do is make me a bit wet.
5. It's highly unlikely that I will ever live anywhere that has to declare "a state
of calamity".

I'm now reading that more typhoons may be heading for the Phillipines and so I'm not just counting my blessings, I'm praying to a God I only sometimes believe in for some mercy for all of those people affected.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.