Bikes, bikes, bikes.

Cambridge is festooned with bikes, they are chained up all over the place. This is clearly a good thing but could be better if the people owning the bikes actually managed to obey some of the rules of the road.

To be fair most Cambridge natives are pretty adept at the old cycling lark, most have lights and whilst many display a complete disregard for the law at least they know what the law is!

Students on the other hand are like lemmings on speed. Totally and utterly feckless, to the point where some get a bike and seem unable to maintain forward motion without a degree of wobbliness akin to a jelly convention.

One way systems? Seemingly they don't apply. 3,4,5 abreast? Oh yes with room for more. Traffic lights? Pedestrians? Pavements? Nothing matters.

So as far as I'm concerned a bike chained to a railing is one I don't need to concern myself with ;)

I needed to get out today and get some air so I wandered around town and took some pictures for our Cambridge photo library which I have been neglecting recently. Lovely sunny day here, perked me up no end.


large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.