Mikey88

By Mikey88

Moon and Sunset Cloud

As I finished working in the garden, I saw the moon rising as the sun was beginning to set. I took a couple of hand-held shots, just because being able to see the craters and details amazes me. Then I noticed the clouds drifting towards the moon and thought this might make an unusual moon shot.

Out came the tripod and then it was a matter of patience waiting for the clouds to reach the right place in the frame. The brightness of the moon was balanced by the brightness of the sky, so I was able to get detail in the moon and capture the colour in the clouds.

As the sky darkened and the clouds became more pink, the moon became relatively brighter and later shots (only a few minutes later) were spoiled by an over-exposed moon.

In the morning, I went into Tavistock to deposit money in the son's account, as he has finished his student loan for the term. I took the opportunity to go to the library and then came back for lunch. The afternoon was spent cutting the buddleia back and taking pictures of the robin which always turns up while I'm working in the garden.

When I'd filled a couple of recycling sacks, I re-filled the bird feeders. The winter startlings arrived over the weekend, so I think I shall be re-filling the feeders more frequently from now on. It's got much colder tonight, so I intend to be down at the river quite early in the morning, to catch any mist, the early morning light and to see what might be around in the way of wildlife.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.