Scribbler

By scribbler

Moon with totem

Moon over Jamison Square with totem by Kenny Scharf. (SOOC)


OVAL is today's DDW challenge topic.


I kept thinking about this shot and finally decided to replace the first one I took at the library because a year from now this is what I will be happy to see again.

The moisture in the air has softened the outline of the moon, and its current phase within the halo appears oval.

-----------------------------------------------
ORIGINAL JOURNAL ENTRY:
Oval puffs of newspaper clouds with blue raindrops over the children's corner, NW Library.

A morning of soft rain. By afternoon I was scribbling too furiously to notice the weather. Following a productive day at the keyboard, it was dark when I finally ventured forth to blip an oval.

My first plan, thinking of Reservoir Oval in the Bronx, had been to photograph the reservoir in Washington Park, but that idea went down with the setting sun. I hoped to come across something suitably oval as I did some early evening chores. I had no idea how rare ovals are!

After returning a book that was due, I looked around the library for inspiration and spotted these newspaper clouds and cut-out raindrops. (How appropriate, since the news is always enough to make one weep.) I tried to cajole Nicholas the librarian, who had helped make them, into being part of the scene, but he demurred.

Although it was raining in the children's corner, outdoors the air was fresh and mild. I took a little stroll under the Christmas lights (yes, they've been up for weeks) before retiring to rest for tomorrow's NaNoWriMo sturm und drang. The evening was so balmy that it felt like spring. That's my story and I'm stickin' to it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.