Delph Wynd Daily

By delphwynd

A Proper Door

A rare sunny day today, so I headed out with my Panini and my MacBook at lunchtime to make the most of it.

I sat on the steps around the back of the college building I work in; nice and peaceful, and free wi-fi courtesy of the Computing Department to the left of this door. Looking at this 61 year old door with its 61 years of history etched all over it I was thinking that, when these buildings were put together, they were put together to last a long time.

We've a new build starting in less than a year and we'll be in a nice new shiny college in two years from now. But I couldn't help thinking, with all it's glass, metal and plastic doors and windows, could a similar blip appear (in whatever format blipfoto might be) on September 11th 2062? Would a similarly placed lecturer out on their lunch break look at the updated UPVC version of the back door and decide it had the requisite amount of character and charm to merit them whipping out their Canon Holo-3D camera and banking their blip for the day? Somehow I just can't see it, but if I'm still around, I'll jump in my hover mobility cart and zoom up there and take the shot myself. It should be an interesting comparison.

Watch this space...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.