Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Stop!

This is part of the old Great Western Railway branch line from Newton Abbot to Moretonhampstead. It may look derelict and indeed it was closed in the Beeching years but this stretch from Heathfield to Newton Abbot has opened and closed a couple of times and presently is used to transport timber from local plantations. It's had royal visitors too and in 1983 Prince Charles and Lady Di spent the night in the royal train just back up the line from where I'm standing.

I just hopped over the wall and walked up the track a bit to take this. I don't know when the next train's due but think I was fairly safe.

I'm heading off to the Lakes tomorrow and first stop will be Storrs Hall on the banks of Windermere so I'll hope to blip from there tomorrow. Although I should have internet, I don't expect I'll be commenting as much as usual.

I hope you're on the right tracks or at the very least managed to stay on the rails.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.