Adventures

By asussexlady

Rewriting the book

We spent today in Birmingham and took a look at the fantastic new library, which opened in September. "Rewriting the book" is the name of the development project.

That homepage depicts the common image of the new library, the exterior with it's bright colours and strange circular pattern. While I did take photos of it from outside, I thought I'd Blip something different. Up on the 7th floor,at the rear of the library, is the Secret Garden. There we found this colourful little installation/sculpture. We couldn't find any information about it at the time (I presume we didn't look hard enough) but I suspect this represents children's literature. Being as I am, attracted to bright colours, I snapped a few photos.

The library is spectacular in general, there are 9 floors (not all public), including a garden, an outdoor area, a skyline viewing room and the Shakespeare Memorial room, which is beautiful and not what you'd expect to find in such a modern building. I'm not sure how great it'll all look in say,10 years time, but for now it's very impressive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.