Off the Road

I have taken hundreds of photos from the road down there, of both sides of the road. From there you can't see the mountains, the view ends with the near hilltop. Today I was taking photos of one of my favourite farm tracks, when a young man on a quad bike came along. He was the same man who gave me a lift to the top of a nearby hill. This time he said I could walk up the track I was interested in. I didn't need persuading!

The weather was perfect, sunny with a slight cool breeze, and as I climbed the hill there was always a skylark close by. Every 80 or so metres a fresh one rose singing. Sometimes there was one on either side. The view from the top was spectacular. I took a lot of shots, but this one with the familiar cabbage trees and other trees with the addition of the mountains was my choice. From here you can see on the right, Mount Torlesse peeping from behind Abners Head. In the centre is Castle Hill Peak and The Gap, and on the left is a snowy part of the Craigieburn Range.

More detail in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.