Opening

The last couple of days were so darkly overcast that the Felicia petals stayed rolled up, but in this morning's sunshine they unfurled.

The sun was too ferocious for me for most of the day and I had to do indoor things rather than gardening. However, when I was pegging out my washing I looked up and saw a beautiful sight. About a hundred southern blackbacked gulls were so high above I could just discern the adults from the juveniles by their light and dark colours. They were lazily wheeling and weaving as in some mystical dance. Then slowly a few here and a few there drifted away, rising and falling, circling their way to the north. I watched until there were just a few juveniles left, prolonging the dance, until they too followed the others.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.