Harvesting the Sage

One of the big queen bumblebees collecting nectar.

Cool and gloomy until late afternoon, when filtered sunlight appeared. No sign of the mountains again today.

I prepared the site and planted six cabbages and nine lettuces. The cabbages I enclosed in a little tunnel house made with hooped stakes and agricultural netting. All the time I was supervised by the cat. I sometimes wonder what she thinks when I dig holes and pour water into them.

I also potted sprouted dwarf beans, and staked the cucumbers. The latter are in big pots, which I have decided to keep in the wee greenhouse after the big one is erected. There is still plenty of room in the wee greenhouse. I must get more seeds on the go. At present coming up are zucchini, basil, and two kinds of lettuce. And of course there are the tomatoes still waiting for the greenhouse to be built. Not long now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.