Roofing

At the back of the house there is a corrugated plastic roof which forms a sort of porch affair. You've seen it in blips; most recently a month ago when I showed the rain running off it.

This morning, while working away, I heard a little light rubble falling on it from the roofing work being done next door. Then there was a sudden crash! I said "Gosh!" (friends will know that just as strong liquor doesn't pass my lips nor do rude words :-)). I then went to see what was happening. There is now a hole in the corrugated plastic - not an enormous hole but a hole nonetheless. It's the shape of Africa but inverted - the Cape of Good Hope is at the top. This reminds me of the West Wing episode where a lobby group were trying to sell the idea that the Mercator Projection that we are all familiar with is wrong and that the world is upside down. My world is always upside down but the idea that we'd drive DOWN to Edinburgh is a step too far for even my muddled mind. I digress. The hole is big enough to put my hand through regardless of its geographically-challenged shape.

I ventured out to see if the chap on next-door's roof was aware of the damage and he leant over the scaffolding for a chat. He explained that the roof would be replaced when my house was re-roofed next year and I asked whether he was pleased to be working during a chilly Autumn rather than on a nice spring day. We chatted a while and I asked if I could take his photograph - and that's what you see here. I explained that the Bliposphere likes portraits and wrote the URL down for him so that he could take a look; I hope he thinks I've done him justice.

On which note. You have an early blip from me because it's done and there's no point hanging on to the good stuff - it has to be out there and shared. I started dealing with work emails at 06:10 this AM so I don't feel guilty about nicking a bit of time for this. Now I'm off out for a visit; real, face-to-face stuff with real students - the very nicest way to spend a working day. It's also the first test of my magnificent mechanicing skills so we'll see how that all hangs together. By the time I get back you'll all be tucking into your Gok Wan-inspired repast and sipping a chilled Soave so I'll pretend that it's already the evening and wish you a happy Thursday night. Even this far ahead I can spy the weekend hiding behind another wonderful Friday so fill yer boots amigos!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.