Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Still more dust!

Did three loads of washing - including the two sofa covers. I was inspired as V, my builder, says his wife does washing all winter and hangs it out. I nearly blipped my washing line, so pleased was I.

The job is taking longer than anticipated, of course... lots of plaster sanding today. At times, you could hardly see. I am getting very tired of this... And V does it all without a mask. Silly man. They're painting the boxroom now. Have tried three different paints to match the lounge walls.

I popped out this afternoon, to use my wide angle in town. But while on the bus, the low afternoon sunshine in the Meadows was just gorgeous, so I jumped off at the next stop. And what did the sun do? Hid behind a cloud.

I walked along to the next bus stop. The sun came out again. But I got on the bus. And who should be coming along but a daschund! Don't see many of them nowadays - I think they're on the 'endangered dogs' list, along with corgis. I'd've loved to get a shot of him trotting along in the autumn leaves... *sigh*

The last of the sunshine still in the Gardens. They're setting up the Christmas stuff. They just get the grass laid and growing nicely, and then they put wooden platforms all over it, and ruin it again. Hundreds of Christmas trees, so maybe the ice rink isn't going up there this year.

An elderly couple had been feeding squirrels. They were pretty cheeky (the squirrels, not the elderly couple) and would come up and grab my hand. I had one tiny wee bit of crisp that I kept teasing them with (the squirrels, not the elderly couple). I spent so long there, but many of the photos were very sunny and very shady, with the sun very low by this time, and my own shadow getting in the way.

But you'll have to have a squirrel. Either that a photo of my washing!

BTW, Uncle A is driving again, has been for a couple of weeks, so he's independent again, and I'm not needed for the weekly shopping expedition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.