Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Mr Turner at last

A good way to have a lie in with a dog, as all dog owners know, is to allow that dog on to the bed… and so this morning Archie proved he could last longer than I could before having to go to the toilet - 9am!

We went to the afternoon movies - Mr Turner. An ideal wet day for afternoon movies - I hate going when it’s sunny, but Friday afternoon is el cheapo, so always worth going. The long awaited, much anticipated film was, well… looooong.

I don’t know if it’s me and my shortened attention span, or worrying about leaving a dog for longer than completely necessary, but any film over an hour and a half (and this was TWO and a half!) and I’m getting fidgety. But thank goodness I didn't have a coughing fit!

The sets, costumes, sounds, scenery were glorious - each one like a painting. Tim Spall was born for this part - his full face on a screen a mile high, was grunting and harrumphing throughout the whole film. But, for me, the housemaid stole every scene she was in. Worth seeing, but chopping a few scenes out would make it better, Mike. IMHO.

Luckily, I had time to fiddle about with my camera before the bus came. Archie went completely bonkers when we came home - probably the longest he's been left.

Fish and chips (delivered) for tea! Perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.