Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Paris

When I was a young newly trained teacher, a pal and I went off to New Zealand for an adventure. We hadn't even been out of the UK! And in all my years in NZ, not able to afford a trip back, I'd get postcards from pals in Paris and other European destinations.

Years later, I eventually came back and went to Paris. I have since been many times. It was worth waiting for. I felt like I had joined an exclusive club - a 'Those-who-have-been-to-Paris Club'. It's that special. Today I weep for Paris. I weep for France. I weep for the world - such hatred and violence.

I am totally saddened and sickened at the happenings yesterday.

I do fear for the future, and do not envy the younger generations, who will inherit this unsafe world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.