Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Kind George

Done nothing much today. But having a dog, a long lie in bed is but a distant memory. His eyes follow me everywhere - willing me to say those magic words, 'Archie... Do you want your breakfast?' At which point he goes crazy!

He also reverts to puppy behaviour - grabbing my dressing gown cord, nibbling my ankles, trying to trip me up - so it’s easiest to deal with kibble first. I don’t blame him - I have to have my kibble porridge immediately too.

Mind you, this means that we’re both fed and watered and ready for the day by 8:30am… And when it’s a dreich day, that’s completely unnecessary. But I sat and read my Kindle for a while, which was a good use of the time.

We then popped out for a walk and visited Uncle A. This is George Heriot’s School. Not the best view of it, but the chap at the gate wasn’t keen on even letting me in that far!

Kind old George Heriot left today’s equivalent of several tens of millions of £s to fund a school for the ‘puir, faitherless bairns’ of Edinburgh.

The chimney sweep came to visit, but declined to live up to his name - ie to sweep the chimney. He wasn’t happy with the Aga installation - some of the measurements are not correct. Hmmm... Is that something we paid the Real Estate Agents vast amounts to check?

Actually, it will spur us to install a living flame gas fire - I don’t think I can be doing with firewood when I’m a really old codger. But we do a have a winter’s load to get through before that…

I’ve booked for Mr Turner tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.