Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Jump!

Archie spent the morning going round looking for things to pinch - socks, vests, knickers, face cloths. He only takes small things. I was using the computer and looked around - there he was, as usual, trying to jump up on the sofa and grab a bit of ironing. He just never gives up.

I decided to take him up Blackford Hill - a wee car ride, always good to keep that up (no vomit) lots of dogs, no mud and no nearby roads. We met a couple of wee black spaniels, and one, Millie, we walked round the hill with and they had a great time. Also met a standard schnauzer who walked by Archie with his nose in the air.

It was all go up the hill - including an ambulance and rescue folk and a woman sitting on a grassy slope - not too badly hurt, I think.

We've both (the humans) still got terrible coughs and sound like lifelong old smokers, and so I was reluctant to go up the hill and get chilled. I needed a hat with ear flaps. And I needed it now.

JR suddenly reminded me that I did indeed have such a hat, bought last winter, but I'd forgotten. Duh! Just as well one of us had the opposite of a memory lapse. I looked bloomin' daft, but snug!

Archie was so grotty when we came home, I gave him a shower and managed not to shower myself. And now we're both settled down for an afternoon of rugby. JR has gone off for some retail therapy in warm shops. (Not a rugby fan).

I was really really tempted to go the NZ match at Murrayfield this afternoon - even checking out tickets last night. Went to the match last time. To see Dan and Richie again - an opportunity not to be missed! But we're both fighting this chest cough, and so sensibly, but reluctantly, I'm watching it on the big TV, with a non-stop supply of nibbles and drinks. Archie is happier too.

Booked to see the Alan Turing film tomorrow. I have high hopes that this will be one film that lives up to the hype...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.