stellarossa

By stellarossa

Down with the hippos

I arrived in Naivasha at our usual venue to find they'd messed up and double booked the accommodation for our group of 12 people.... so we'll have to move to another place an hour and a half away for the last day of our meeting - not deal. However by way of compensation they upgraded us from our cheapest 'charity rate' rooms to the luxury tents built over the lake with amazing birdlife just outside my doortent flap.

I couldn't say no, could I? Hoever it is a bit remote down here in the dark surrounded by hippos that sound awfully close... and what's that rustling noise outside, and isn't that a creature on the roof? and on top of that all the other people here are tipping everyone, I have no cash on me, no idea how much anyway, and a very English anxiety about getting it wrong.

I crawled under my bed covers, put in my earplugs and hid until sunrise. Surely I'm the only person who would not enjoy being upgraded from a $50 room to a $500 dollar luxury tent at no cost....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.