Cheeky Monkey!

I woke at six as the birds were really getting going right outside the tent - the hippos had disappeared as the sun rose. I saw a pair of malchite kingfishers just a few feet away, and Fish Eagles, cormorants, pied kingfishers and plenty more I can't identify but which look lovely.

Then came the monkeys. Fearless and way too familiar, using my tent roof as a playground, chasing each other around making a tremendous racket.

I went to have a shower and one jumped onto the mesh panel in the roof of the tent, scaring the life out of me and causing the guard to come running over (which was equally as embarrassing). Then they took it in turns in the early morning sunlight to watch me in the shower which felt somewhat inappropriate in a way I can't quite articulate.... cheeky monkeys!

I'm just getting ready for bed and there are strange animal noises outside......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.