magpie

By magpie

Feeding Frenzy

When the giant has its back turned, the kitchen window feeder becomes The Place to Eat.

Without sounding too dull, it is very interesting to see how each species dines; the blue tits rush in and rush out as if they're grabbing a takeaway, the sparrows lounge about in twos and threes and fight and squabble for the best spot, the robin is a lone diner - though he doesn't bring a book or note-pad, the greenfinches chew the food and spit it out everywhere like Homer Simpson and, should the jackdaws arrive, they stab at the nuts and almost topple the whole thing over.

I am not a twitcher, but I do find it all fascinating, especially when I can stand about 8 inches from the whole eating event. The pictures I see on this site are incredible in their detail and I know that I really must get a decent camera to do this whole bird blipping opportunity justice.

Oh, and I also need to wash the kitchen window!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.