A Plumbers Wife!

By hebsjournal

Kennack Sands

Kennack Sands beach - on the Lizard Peninsula.

A favourite haunt from childhood holidays. My Aunty Pat and Uncle Jim used to live close by. This was the beach where, when I climbed over a gate and tore the back of my calf with barbed wire, my Uncle Jim made we walk into the sea and get it properly wet with the salty water - I cried, it stung a lot, but to be fair, it healed quickly. (I have the scar - it reminds me of Jim, not of my own stupidity at the age of 11 to climb over a gate with barbed wire on the top of it!)

To get to this beach, you have to drive down a road which is barely wide enough for one car most of the way, there are passing points, but it is a very windy road - fortunately I have never yet had to reverse back to a passing point!!!

My brother and I took James there this year after my Aunty Pat passed away.

I will go back again - its one of those special places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.