Ladies & Gents I Give You The Forth Rail Bridge.

Well I finally made it, my #1 on my bucket list and a bonus was Sandra was given the chance to make it up top as well onto the top of The Forth Rail Bridge after years of asking around the Network Rail guys to see about the chance to get up there, so after getting the go ahead for the visit after 24 years on the Railway 22 of them as a Driver I was so chuffed to finally get my chance to get up the top of The Forth Rail Bridge, there was going to be 15 guests allowed up today after meeting up at the Balfour Beatty worksite at Dalmeny for the safety brief we were supplied with our High Viz clothing and Hard Hats then we were transported by mini bus to North Queensferry to be taken up top in a Hoist/Lift it takes a maximum of 17 +1 operator so with only 16 in the lift we quickly ascended to the platform up the top it was made up of two big platforms that you could walk from one side of the bridge to the other along with a walkway between both platfroms what an amazing and privelaged feeling to be given the oppertunity as only 650 people have ever been given this special view as most of the others there were guys who are building the new Borders Railway and Rail Staff along with four other special guests so a big thanks to J.G. from Network Rail and C from Balfour Beatty who is in charge of the maintenance who made it possible for this special visit and I'm glad when we went back to Dalmeny as only 6 of us stayed behind to take up the offer of tea and biscuits because C from Balfour Beatty gave us all a new book called Forth Bridge Restoring An Icon valued at £18.50 so that was a fab gift as well to top off a great day anyway whilst up the bridge I took 313 photos all in up top on a blustery and cloudy day but thankfully no rain but the views were toatlly amazing indeed so I now have to find a new #1 now that I have achieved my goal for the FRB so I will post a folio section of shots from the top shortly but enjoy the view like I did from my blip for today thankfully my blistered feet held out along with my unforgettable visit up the top of such an Iconic structure now then movie for the day can only be "The Bucket List 2007" Looks good LARGE as well. PS I forgot to mention that from what I was told today that if all goes to plan by 2015 they would hope to have installed two glass elevators that can hold 15 people with around a 30 minute time slot for each 15 people as one lift will take you up and one for taking you down with a glass structure for viewing from which would be really neat but that will be down to the World Heritage folks as most of the funding is in place from what I was told today so that will be really neat for the members of the public that may have never got the amazing view that I was lucky enough to get today, See Ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.