0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

Other people on the street, with cameras, always spark my curiosity.

I spotted Katie from afar, walking around the Trinity shopping centre. As she was on another level to me, I had to follow her until I could catch up when she stopped outside one of the entrances.

I approached and explained my project, she naturally went on to explain what she was doing. Her style of photography was more candid, capturing folk going about their daily lives. She showed me on her camera how she had followed (I said stalked, haha) a woman, taking various shots of her.

“What made you follow her particularly?”, I asked.
“She had a wig.”
*Laugh* “A wig?!”
“Yeah. I could tell. I think, above all things, hair is a major attraction in my street photography. It’s probably the first thing I notice. It says a lot about a person - their hair”

I didn't ask her what my hair said about me, I needed a haircut so it wasn’t looking particularly great.

Katie’s photography is part of her study project, even though she’s studying graphic design, photography forms an important part of the course, she told me.

“So, who’s your next subject?”
“I was going to take a picture of that newspaper vendor over there, but he looks a bit grumpy, and fed up”
“Why don't we go over and ask him?”, I suggested.
And so I did.

The newspaper vendor was indeed in a bad mood, claiming he was busy.

“Oh well”, I said frustratingly, “he had boring hair anyway”.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.