Ingeborg

By Ingeborg

Mauve dragon

We're home again and definitely jetlagged . Our flight left at 6PM Washington time and took some 7 hours, with a time difference of 6 hours that meant we arrived at 7am after 3-4 hours sleep. We landed in dense fog, and that fog has not really lifted today. So a day to stay mostly in and not much possibility for an outside Blip. Today's Colour Challenge is mauve, and so I've taken a couple of pictures of things in our house which I think are mauve. My idea of mauve is a muddy kind of purple going to magenta/red, so I was very surprised to see that the term mauve for colour comes from the flower mallow and from one of the first synthetic dyes called mauveine , which was discovered by accident by the chemist Sir William Henry Perkin and is more a kind of blue purple shade going to violet. If you Google mauve for clothes you'll see a whole range of shades of purple from magenta to lavender. So I decided to Blip this glass dragon with what according to me were mauve colour accents, on top of my purple and magenta tie/dye t-shirt anyway, there's bound to be some real mauve in this picture :-)

Now off to make dinner and then an early night !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.