FIRE!

My assignment for today was to photograph a fence, suggested this time in ernest by camera shy.

I did fulfill my mission, but this fire got in the way of displaying it for my post today.

As I was driving to dinner with a colleague I noticed prominent billowing smoke nearby. So, as a goodly prepared blipper, I drove directly there and brought my ever present camera to bear.

The fire was in a good sized apartment building south of downtown Anchorage. Four fire brigades reported to the blaze.

I snuck past the police patrolling the crowd. "Are you a photographer?" the police officer asked.

"Yes." I said.

"Who do you work for?" the officer asked.

Hmmm. Now you can see my dilemma. Did I want to say 'I am a Blipfoto journalist'? Yes, I wanted to say that. But I thought better. I didn't have my Blipfoto journalist ID card with me at the time. Besides, I already got a good photo of the a firefighter of Brigade 4, so I thought I'd better play it safe.

I humbly said, "I am just an amateur." and I returned to the other side of the street with the other commoners.

During the commotion, I did keep my wits about me and took my fence photo as assigned.

Another View.

Edit: The firefighter in the Brigade 4 photo was initially misidentified as the Captain by my research staff. You can see the Captain in the fence photo.


Apartment Fire. Anchorage, Alaska.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.