hpx

By hpx

Bricks, blocks and balustrades

The title was my assignment to work on today. We went into Lyttelton from Mary Jo's home in Cass Bay and worked in pairs (but individually - if that makes any sense!).

As I mentioned yesterday, I know a few of us have been looking for new ideas. While my course was using lensbabys the list of assignments below can be interpreted with any lens or camera.

Yesterday morning we walked around the coast and each had a different assignment. It was up to us how we interpreted the theme we were given. They were:

- old
- colourful
- soft
- small
- pretty
- ugly
- wild

We also had various other portrait assignments to do. Yesterday afternoon we had a macro assignment to do. Again we were assigned one theme from the list below:

- it's not what it seems
- little green monsters
- two or three (meaning to photograph things in 2's or 3's)
- patterns
- monochrome (ie choose subjects in one colour and photograph them. This was my theme and I went with green)
- what in the world?!
- close to my heart

As with the morning themes, it was fascinating to see how each person interpreted their theme.

Today the list of themes were:

- movable feast (ie people eating, drinking)
- locals versus townies (people who live in Lyttelton think of themselves as local and people who come through the tunnel to visit as townies)
- bricks, blocks and balustrades
- getting around (ie modes of transport)

There is so much to explore in each of these themes. I hope they provide you with inspiration, regardless of what camera or lens you use. I'll be interested to see how you interpret them. Please let me know if you start exploring any so I can see what you've done.

Phew! time to forage for fodder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.