Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Keep Calm, Sing On

Friday I had the pleasure of taking pictures for TerriG's new website (not up yet) in her new identity as a voice teacher. I took many shots--all indoors, on a rainy day. Challenging conditions, but we got some lovely moments, of which this is one of about ten favorites of mine. I was moved by Terri's brilliance as a teacher: her patience, her kindness, her ability to en-courage her student, and to challenge her in a joyful way. I am also moved by the eloquence of her hands. There were a couple of other pictures of her hands in even more beautiful expressions, but I like the words on the clock for this shot.

This picture reminded me of a particular song I love. It's part of a movie soundtrack, a piece called "Please God May We Always Go On Singing," written by Maurice Jarre, for the film Sunshine, with lyrics by the director Istvan Szabo. I was able to find a trailer for the film, even though I couldn't find the song I wanted. If you haven't seen this one (from 1999), do. I love it so much that I own a copy of it. I think it's the most masterful performance ever from Ralph Fiennes, and it tells a story of resistance, persecution, collaboration, and survival throughout the Nazi era. One of the themes is that music is a support to our survival of horror and loss. The soundtrack is divine.

At this moment in my life I am so deeply immersed in happiness that I can't keep up with comments, so I'm leaving comments off, but I'm sending waves of love from the ethers of joy that I currently inhabit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.